FIH Pro League: FAQs

GB v Japan HCT2018
The FIH Pro League (FIHPL) is underway, but what exactly is it?

Check out our FAQs below and discover all you need to know about this exciting new competition set to transform the landscape of international hockey!

What is the FIH Pro League?
The FIH Pro League is the ground-breaking, new, global hockey competition beginning in 2019.

Two leagues - one men’s and one women’s - each comprising the greatest hockey nations will battle it out for glory. 128 matches will be staged around the world - 15 here in Great Britain - before culminating in a Grand Final in June in the Netherlands. It’s going to be action-packed, international rivalries will be at their fiercest and the hockey will be of the highest calibre.  

How does it work?
Each nation will face the other countries home and away between January-June and will be ranked in a league according to the number of points they collect. The top four from each will then qualify for a ‘Grand Final’ being held in The Netherlands in late June.

Teams will pick up three points if they win and none if they lose. If a game is drawn it will then go into a shootout, the winner of which receive two points while the loser will take home just one.

In terms of the matches themselves the normal rules of outdoor hockey apply (i.e. four quarters each lasting 15 minutes, 18 players in a matchday squad etc.).

Does it lead to Olympic qualification?
No team will directly qualify for Tokyo 2020 from the FIH Pro League but the top four sides in each will qualify for a two-legged Olympic qualification play-off which will be held in the year.

Which nations are playing in the FIH Pro League?
All the biggest and best teams in world hockey will be taking part. 

Just some of the outfits our GB teams will come up against are reigning men’s Olympic gold medalists Argentina, women’s World Cup winners The Netherlands, the newly crowned men’s World Champions side in Belgium and Gold Coast 2018 title holders in Australia’s men and New Zealand’s women.

Full list of men’s teams – Great Britain, Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Spain and New Zealand.

Full list of women’s teams – Netherlands, Great Britain, Australia, Argentina, Germany, New Zealand, China, USA and Belgium.

When and where are GB's matches taking place?
Great Britain’s men get their Pro League campaign underway on Friday 25 January before both sides head to Oceania to take on New Zealand (8 February) and Australia (16 February).

Our first home game sees the women taking on the USA on Saturday 27 April while the men’s first game on Spain a week later.

Most of Great Britain’s home matches will be played at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre between April-June 2019, with three double headers where both our men and women play:
  • Argentina – 18 May
  • Belgium – 19 May
  • Australia – 9 June
However our final double header against New Zealand will see hockey take a step into new territory as we visit the Twickenham Stoop Stadium on 23 June. Find out more about this exciting adventure here.

You can find a detailed list of all our fixtures here.

Can I still buy tickets?
Yes! Click here to secure your seat at what will be one of the most exciting sporting events of 2019!

Can I watch the games on TV?
As it stands all 144 FIHPL be games will be shown on BT Sport.