Great Britain's Sultan of Johor Cup squad named

GB fans Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2017
The Great Britain squad for this month’s Sultan of Johor Cup in Malaysia has been announced and includes two players who won the competition back in 2015.

Both Chris Wyver and Josh Pavis participated in a thrilling tournament two years ago that saw Great Britain edge out India 4-3 on penalties, a year after narrowly losing to the same opponents 2-1 in another close final. 

Head Coach Jon Bleby’s 18-strong squad for the tournament - an U21 event featuring six teams taking place between 22-29 October - also features several players who participated for England in the 2016 edition, where they finished fourth. 

That list includes Pavis’ University of Nottingham team-mate Tom Sorsby and Durham University’s Jack Waller, who scored in the third-placed play-off against Japan.

Old Georgians goalkeeper Wyver was also part of the senior GB team that won the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia earlier this year and will be hoping to add another gold medal to his ever-growing collection.

There have also been call-ups for exciting Welsh prospects Ben Francis and Jacob Draper, both of whom played a key role for their country’s senior team this year as they finished second at the EuroHockey Championships II, earning promotion to the top tier for the 2019 tournament in the process.

Scotland’s Cameron Golden and Callum Mackenzie have also been awarded places in the team after also producing notable performances for their country at the U21 EuroHockey Junior Championships II in Russia, in which they finished third.

Great Britain start their tournament against hosts Malaysia on Sunday 22 October before taking on the USA the following day and Australia on Wednesday 25 October. Games against Japan and India will follow on Thursday 26 October and Saturday 28 October respectively with the final ranking games taking place the next day.

Great Britain squad for the 2017 Sultan of Johor Cup



Alex Blumfield


Jacob Draper

Cardiff & Met

Ben Francis


Cameron Golden

Grove Menzieshill

Gareth Griffiths


Callum Mackenzie


Tim Nurse

Bath Buccaneers

Nick Page

Loughborough Students

Nick Park


Josh Pavis

Nottingham University

Oliver Payne

Durham University

Duncan Scott

Exeter University

Tom Sorsby

Nottingham University

James Sutcliffe

Brooklands MU

Zach Wallace


Jack Waller

Durham University

Eddie Way

Birmingham University

Chris Wyver

Old Georgians



Support Staff


Jon Bleby

Head Coach

Paul Gannon

Team Manager

Colin Clarke

Assistant Coach

Emma Bird

Performance Analyst

Laura Hanna


Ralph Smith


Fixtures (BST unless stated)*
22 October - Great Britain v Malaysia, 13:35
23 October - USA v Great Britain, 11:05
25 October - Great Britain v Australia, 09:05
26 October - Japan v Great Britain, 13:35
28 October - Great Britain v India, 09:05
29 October - Final to be played at 12:35 GMT (5/6 play-off at 07:35 GMT and 3/4 play-off at 10:05 GMT)

*Each game is being live streamed and can be watched by clicking here.